D-League finals set

 TULSA, OK. – The Tulsa 66ers now know who they will play in the NBA D-League championship series and when they will be playing. alt

The Rio Grande Valley Vipers held on to beat the Austin Toros 99-98 Wednesday night, earning a spot in the best-of-three championship series with the 66ers. The Vipers are the affiliate of the Houston Rockets of the NBA, and play their home games in the State Farm Arena in McAllen, Texas. Earlier this week, their head coach, Chris Finch, was named the Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year.

The Vipers are led by the 2010 NBA D-League MVP Michael Harris who is the leading scorer in the playoffs, averaging 31.3 points per game. Viper guard Will Conroy has averaged 21.8 points and 9.2 assists per game.

According to the NBA D-League website, the series will begin with a 3 P.M. game at the Tulsa Convention Center on Sunday, April 25. From there the series will shift to McAllen, Texas for the final two games on Tuesday, April 27 and Thursday, April 29 if necessary. For more information on tickets contact the Tulsa 66ers office at 585-8444.

We will have further details about Sunday’s game as soon as they are made available by the 66ers.