Tulsa’s Zach Nulisch receives award

Conference USA Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced today the recipients of the 2010-11 Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards, which are determined by the Faculty Athletics Representatives, and Tulsa’s Zach Nulisch was among the honorees. 
Nulisch completed his undergraduate studies in finance with a 3.975 GPA, earning TU’s Warren Garrison Academic Excellence Award as the graduating senior with the highest GPA.  He was named to the TU President’s List and picked up C-USA Academic Medalist honors as a freshman and sophomore, and as a junior and senior, was named to the Dean’s List and was a C-USA Academic Medalist.  Nulisch was selected to the C-USA All-Academic team as a sophomore, and he picked up ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VI first team honors as a sophomore and senior.  

Nulisch also earned four letters as a member of the men’s soccer team.  He played in 67 games and had 36 starts, and tallied four goals and eight assists for 16 career points.  Nulisch was also active in the Tulsa community throughout his career, participating in Shadow A Student-Athlete Day, Pet Adoption League, MAC’s National Soccer School summer camps and TU’s True Blue Neighbors program at Kendall Whittier Elementary School.
The C-USA Scholar Athlete of the Year awards are presented to the top student-athletes in each conference-sponsored sport.  The award is based on academic achievement (GPA), athletic achievement and service.  Scholar-athletes were selected from C-USA’s 12 institutions and 20 sports (combining indoor and outdoor track & field).  
Baseball: Marc Bourgeois, Southern Miss.

Men’s Basketball: Connor Frizzelle, Rice

Women’s Basketball: *Amanda Peterson, UAB

Men’s Cross Country: Matt Carey, Rice

Women’s Cross Country: Risper Kimaiyo, UTEP

Football: Austin Davis, Southern Miss

Men’s Golf: Erik Mayer, Rice

Women’s Golf: Carolyn Cochran, UAB

Women’s Rowing: Chelsey Lauzon, UCF

Men’s Soccer: Zach Nulisch, Tulsa

Women’s Soccer: Vendula Strnadova, Memphis

Softball: Antoinette "Toni" Paisley, East Carolina

Women’s Swimming & Diving: Audra Egenolf,

Men’s Tennis: Oscar Podlewski, Rice

Women’s Tennis: Rebekka Hanle, Rice

Men’s Track and Field: **Philip Adam, Rice

Women’s Track and Field: Allison Pye, Rice

Volleyball: *Tracey Lam, Rice
* repeat winner