Fallin names appointments to Judicial Nominating Commission

 This week Governor Mary Fallin announced the appointment of Ed Crocker and Lee Evans to the Judicial Nominating Commission. Each appointee will serve a six-year term.  Senate confirmation is not required.

Members of the commission nominate candidates for appointment by the governor to fill vacancies on the Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeals, the Court of Appeals, District and Associate District judgeships, and the Workers’ Compensation Court.

The commission has 15 members. Six members are to be lawyers elected by the Oklahoma Bar Association, one selected from each of the six Oklahoma congressional districts as they existed in 1967. Six non-lawyer members are appointed by the governor, also from the six congressional districts. The remaining three appointees, also non-lawyer members, are selected by the Speaker of the House, the Senate President Pro Tempore and a majority vote of the Judicial Nominating Commission.  

Ed Crocker of Norman is owner of Oklahoma Long Term Care Associates, an independent long-term care insurance agency. He previously served three terms in the Oklahoma House of Representatives.  Crocker has a bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of California at Berkeley and a master’s degree in public administration from the University of Oklahoma. He is replacing Chelle Sandell and is serving as a Republican from Congressional District Four as required by statute.

Lee Evans of Ponca City is the vice president of Evans and Associates, a highway construction company.  He previously served on the Ponca City Development Authority.  Evans has a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Oklahoma State University and a master’s degree in business administration from East Texas State University.  He is replacing Robert McClendon and is serving as a Republican from Congressional District Six as required by statute.