Election results

President Barack Hussein Obama won a close contest Tuesday night over former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney as individual votes documented a nation deeply divided.

After running the most personally insulting inaccurate and divisive race in history, Obama spoke to thousands of cheering supporters, praising Romney and promising that better days are ahead.

"While our road has been hard, though our journey has been long, we have picked ourselves up. We have fought our way back, and we know in our hearts that for the United States of America, the best is yet to come," he said.

After Romney telephoned the president, he spoke to disappointed supporters in Boston. In a graceful concession, he summoned all Americans to pray for Obama and urged the night’s political winners to put partisan bickering aside and "reach across the aisle" to tackle the nation’s problems.

In Tulsa County, Mitt Romney won the race with 66.8 percent of the vote Obama’s 33.2 percent.  For the second presidential race in a row, all 77 counties of Oklahoma voted Republican.

In the contest to represent the 1st District of Oklahoma in Congress, Republican Jim Bridenstine easily won over Democrat John Olson with 63.5 percent of the vote.

In the 2nd District of Oklahoma in Congress, Republican Markwayne Mullin earned 57.3 percent to Democrat Rob Wallace’s 38.0 percent.  Independent Michael G. Fulks gathered only 4.3 percent of the total.

Incumbent Republicans Frank Lucas, Tom Cole and James Lankford will continue to represent the state in Congress – all by significant margins.

Incumbent Republican Brian Crain will return to the Oklahoma State Senate after defeating challenger Julie Hall, with 56.9 percent to 43.1 percent of the vote.

In the most hotly contested State House race, District 71, Republican Katie Henke beat Democrat Dan Arthrell, 53.2 percent to 46.8 percent.  This race was left undecided by the Courts after a special election was ruled “too close to call” with a certified vote of one in Henke’s favor.

In State House District 76, Republican David Brumbaugh won by 67 percent over Democrat Glenda Puett’s 32.3 percent.

Midtown Tulsa returned incumbent Democrat Jeannie McDaniel to House District 78 with 61.4 percent of the vote and Democrat Seneca Scott won with 72.7 percent in North Tulsa.

Vision2 was defeated in both propositions.  Proposition 1 which focused on infrastructure support for City of Tulsa owned facilities at the Tulsa International Airport Industrial Complex failed with 56 percent voting no.  Proposition 2 which would have funded city and county “quality of life” projects lost with 54.6 percent voting no.  

For more election results, click here for the Oklahoma Election Board