Bipartisan effort to end ban on crude oil exports

OilRigWorkers U.S. Sens. Jim Inhofe and James Lankford (R-Okla.) today joined Sens. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), chairwoman of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, and Heidi Heitkam (D-N.D.) along with 10 of their Senate colleagues in introducing the Energy Supply and Distribution Act of 2015 (S.1312). This bipartisan legislation would modernize federal energy policy by ending the outdated ban on crude oil exports.

“I am proud to support Chairman Murkowski’s bill to lift the oil export ban. When producers can export everything from gasoline to jet fuel, it only makes sense that unrefined products should be exported too,” Inhofe said.

Oklahoma Senator Jim Inhofe

Oklahoma Senator Jim Inhofe

“This bill would help provide energy security for our allies in Europe and Asia, as well as support job creation in the United States by encouraging greater production. Leading studies also show that this policy change will lower gasoline prices at the pump. This is the right thing to do – both for ourselves and our allies abroad.

“Energy development has been a valuable part of the American economy for decades, even while unnecessary barriers have restrained its’ growth and limited jobs,” Lankford said.

Sen. James Lankford

Sen. James Lankford

“The energy industry has been a bright spot through a recession, and its potential, specifically in the area of crude oil exports, is tremendous. This bipartisan Energy Supply and Distribution Act of 2015 is important for growing our economy, creating good-paying jobs, and unleashing a robust recovery.

We actually have the capacity to produce enough resources to be a net exporter, yet are unable to do so due to an antiquated and outdated ban. We should take every advantage to export both our resources and our values to nations around the world,” Lankford added.

OilRigDerrickIncluding Inhofe, original cosponsors of the bill include Sens. John Hoeven (R-N.D.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), John McCain (R-Ariz.), Bob Corker (R-Tenn.), Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), and James Lankford (R-Okla.).

More information on S. 1312, the Energy Supply and Distribution Act, is available on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *