Senators take oath of office

oksenatesworn16Updated: In a ceremony held on Oklahoma’s 109th birthday, 24 new and returning members of the Oklahoma State Senate were sworn into office at the Capitol Wednesday.  Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb, President of the Senate, presided over the ceremony.  The oath was administered by the Honorable John Reif, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

The 13 new members taking the oath of office were Micheal Bergstrom, R-Adair; Dewayne Pemberton, R-Muskogee; James Leewright, R-Bristow; Greg McCortney, R-Ada; Roland Pederson, R-Burlington; Tom Dugger, R-Stillwater; Joe Newhouse, R-Broken Arrow; Lonnie Paxton, R-Tuttle; Julie Daniels, R-Bartlesville; Chris Kidd, R-Addington; Dave Rader, R-Tulsa; Adam Pugh, R-Edmond; and Paul Scott, R-Duncan.

Returning members sworn in Wednesday included Wayne Shaw, R-Grove; Larry Boggs, R-Wilburton; Kevin Matthews, D-Tulsa; Rob Standridge, R-Norman; Ron Sharp, R-Shawnee; Bryce Marlatt, R-Woodward; Nathan Dahm, R-Broken Arrow; Gary Stanislawski, R-Tulsa; Dan Newberry, R-Tulsa; Kyle Loveless, R-Oklahoma City; and Greg Treat, R-Oklahoma City.  Sen. Joseph Silk, R-Broken Bow, will be sworn in on Monday.

Senate President Pro Tempore Designate Mike Schulz said he looked forward to working with the Tulsa metro senators.

State Capitol Building in Oklahoma City“Senators Rader and Newhouse will be strong voices on behalf of their districts here in the State Senate.  They join Senators Stanislawski, Newberry and Dahm, whose leadership and insight are highly valued.  Combined, these members will help our caucus as we work to build a stronger and more prosperous Oklahoma,” said Schulz, R-Altus.

Returning members were able to file legislation for the 2017 session beginning November 15, while new members can begin filing bills on November 23.  The deadline for requesting bills is December 9.  Those measures must be filed by January 19.

The full Senate will officially convene for an organizational day on Tuesday, January 3, 2017, and the First Session of the 56th Legislature reconvenes on Monday, February 6.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *