Tulsa Election Results

altDewey Bartlett Jr. was elected mayor of Tulsa Tuesday night, which also saw three incumbent council members lose.

Only about 30 percent of the city’s registered voters cast ballots in a night that also saw the election of a new city auditor for the first time in two decades.

Full results from the Tulsa County Election Board are available here.

In an expensive and often acrimonious election, Bartlett, a Republican, defeated Tom Adelson, a Democrat, by about 5,000 votes – 45 percent to 36 percent. Independent Mark Perkins picked up 18 percent of the vote.

It was the second time Bartlett and Adelson have faced each other. In the 2004 race for the state Senate District 33 seat, Adelson beat Bartlett with 51 percent of the vote.

Adelson raised about $1.3 million for the race, including an $850,000 personal loan. Bartlett raised about $585,000, including a $30,000 personal loan. In contrast, Perkins only raised about $53,000. 

Three city council members lost re-election.

In District 3, Democrat Roscoe Turner defeated incumbent David Patrick, an Independent, with a total of 46 percent to 39 percent, a margin of about 300 votes.

In District 4, incumbent Eric Gomez lost to Maria Barnes, a former council member, by about 600 votes – 54 percent to 46 percent.

In District 5, incumbent Dennis Troyer also lost. Jim Mautino, a Republican, defeated Troyer by about 120 votes, 51 percent to 49 percent.

And in District 9, G.T. Bynun, the incumbent, easily defeated Roger Lowry, winning with 71 percent of the vote or by roughly 4,800 votes.

For the city auditor position, Person Doerflinger won with 58 percent of the vote, defeating long-time incumbent Phil Woods by about 10,000 votes.